Helping Kids Flourish in Kindergarten and Beyond
 
Picture
I love this picture and the cartoon effect as it highlights the individual character and spunky spirit of all of the amazing kids in our class this year. As I complete our assessments, I can't help but reflect on the growth of this year. Our kids are ready for first grade, and we could not have had this success without YOU!
Parents and teachers are a very powerful team in helping motivate and empower kids to learn. I cannot tell you how much it means to have had your support this year. At times I have worried about coming across as "too firm" or holding the kids accountable for "too much" but I have learned that with the proper scaffolding by parents and teachers, kids can rise to the occasion! Yes, they are five and six, and need lots of room to run, roam, creatively explore new ideas and make big messes as they do so. They also, though, are constantly testing to be sure that we have put limits and boundaries around them, so that they can feel safe and secure. Together we have created a learning environment this year where kids are kind, loving and accepting to each other. Thanks to you, we have begun the long learning journey with our kids understanding the importance of trying hard and not giving up at the first disappointing mistake. Because of your support, we have held the standards high and let our learners know that we expect them to do their best work. 
Without any more rambling, I just want to express my sincere gratitude for all that you do, and for sharing your precious (not quite as little) ones with Miss Harrington and I this year. Thank you, thank you thank you!

Rachael Moreno
5/24/2010 05:44:10 am

It's not even the last day of school & the tears are already falling. I wasn't prepared for all of the changes that I've witnessed this year in my own child. Who knew that my first born finshing her first (offical) year of school would bring on such strong emotions. I guess the apple doesn't fall too far from the tree, huh?? Thanks for having patience when it's needed & being firm too. You are so right that children (mine in particular) need boundaries to feel safe. Thanks for all that you do & have alreay done. I can't wait to see the end of the year performance from Fabulous Room 11. I'll bring the extra kleenex :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.